Contact Details : +977 9841039391

Religion of Nepal

1: Hindu Religion

Hinduism is the major religion of Nepal. In Nepal 83% people identified themselves as Hindu. There are total 900 million of Hindu people in the world. Hindu religion is also known as “Sanatana Dharma” which means “the eternal law”. The major scriptures of Hinduism are Ramayan, Mahabharat, Upanishad, and Veda. Hindu people go to the temple for practiced their religion or worshipped to gods and goddess. Hindu respects the authority of Vedas (a collection of ancient sacred texts) and the Brahmins (priest). Bharma (creator of the world) Vishnu (operator of the world) and Shiva (destroyer of the world) are the main gods of Hindu religion and Hinduism also believes in the incarnation of these three deities. The major Hindu temples of Nepal are Pashupatinath Temple, Manakamana Temple, Dakshinkali Temple, Gorakhnath Temple, Changu Narayan Temple and Tal Barahi Temple. Sankaracharya is said to be the founder of Hindu religion.

Hinduism believes in the existence of soul, non-violence, rebirth, hell, and heave. In addition, the follower of Hinduism believes in Karmakanda and it is also influenced by tantra, mantra, Jagu, and tuna (magic). Hinduism is not founded by the particular prophet. Hinduism believes in the supremacy of Vedas. Hinduism supposed to be four chief arms in life which every being should pursue. They are Dharma (righteousness or moral duty), Artha (wealth and prosperity), Kama (worldly desires), and Mokshya (ultimate serenity or liberation).  Hinduism emphasizes the illusory nature of the world and the rod of karma in keeping men bound to this world and the cycle of births and deaths. The holy book of Hindu Upanishad and Bhagbatgita consider doing action promoted by desire and attachment would lead suffering. Hinduism believes in detachment, renunciation of worldly life as a precondition to entering spiritual life.

1: Buddhist Religion

Buddhism is not a religion; rather it is a kind of Philosophy basically based on teachings of Siddhartha Gautam (Buddha). Buddhism gives details about the principle of life, peace, non-violence, meditation, truth, wisdom and injustice of the physical world. The main goal of Buddhism is to get nirvana in human life. “Tripitaka” is the holy book of Buddhism. Buddha is the father of Buddhism who was born in 2550 years ago in Nepal. Buddha at the age of 29, left wealthy and luxurious King palace in Lumbini with the strong belief that comfortable and rich lifestyle does not guarantee happiness, so he explored different teachings and meditations to find the key pleasure of human being. So, after 6 years of meditation, finally, he acquired enlightenment and spent rest of his life teaching about Truth or Dhamma until his death of 80.

The eight noble paths according to of Buddha which avoid sufferings are the Right view, Right Determination, Right Action, Right Speech, Right Mind, Right Effort, Livelihood and Right Consternation. Buddha says:

  • There is truth of pain & sufferings.
  • There is truth of causes of pain & sufferings.
  • There is truth of the end of Pain & sufferings.
  • There is truth of path that leads to the end of the Pain & Sufferings.

So, there is suffering in this world, Suffering exists; it has a cause; it has an end; it has a cause to bring about its end. So, Right now Buddhism has become the popular religion in Nepal.

The minority of the people in Nepal believe in Christianity, Muslim, Jainism and some are without religion too.