Contact Details : +977 9841039391

Caste System of Nepal

The traditional Hindu caste system illustrates a more rigidly inherited form of inequality. A caste consisted of those whose families had always engaged in a particular occupation. A caste is a closed stratum or level in a society, its members are born, live and die with it.Today, there are the influences of the caste system in Nepal which distress their occupation, culture, dress, marriage, social standard, income and authenticate their way of life.  The Nepalese caste system is an impact of orthodox Indian caste system. Even though young and educated people do not care about caste system but due to the rigid cultural traditions, they have the compulsion to follow it. The ethnic indigenous people who are Buddhist do not follow caste system but Indian migrants who are Hindus follow this system.

Four Caste System of Nepal 

1: Brahmin (traditionally priests, Scholars, educators)

2: Kshatriya (soldiers, governors, and Kings)

3: Vaishya (farmers, merchants, cattle herds and artisans)

4: Sudra (laborers, service providers)

Hindu caste system demonstrates the division of labor, each groups having in theory and tradition, a profession from which their members can depart only within certain rules. There is a separation in matters of marriage and contact and hierarchy which ranks the groups relatively superior or inferior to one another. A person who is born in a caste remains in it for life and dies in it. Every caste system should marry within own group. For instance, the Brahmin boy marries Brahmin girls but not outside through arranged marries. Even though the constitution says there are equality and no caste system but within it, there is a caste system.

The ritual, status, purity of an individual is considered the caste system. The issue of being touchable and untouchable that exits not only between higher and lower caste but also in one’s caste group. Temporarily, a person from higher caste is pronounced untouchable if his family is dead if a women having physical menstruation or she has given birth to a child. This period of being untouchable is between a weak and a year. Lower caste people are prevented from entering temples, funeral places, restaurants and other respective public places also not allowed drinking public drinking water and wells.

Brahmins and Kshatriyas are the highest class of people having nice houses, fertile land, good living standards, and authority. Vaishya is those people who are involved in business and gain wealth. Sudras are the untouchable lower class people who are impure and polluted. For Example, Kamis (Iron -smiths) Sunars (Gold-smiths) Sarki (cobbler), Damahi (tailors) are Sudras. The Republic of Nepal Constitution pronounces any discrimination according to gender, caste, religion is punishable. In Nepal, the caste system will slowly be abandoned because of social awareness, education, and impact of modernism. Radar Trek will help for Nepal being a beautiful garden of two castes; Male and Female who are pure touchable, frank, educated and follow the rules and regulation of the society.